Announcing the 2017 Brownie Awards

The Brownie Awards are an annual celebration recognizing excellence in the remediation and redevelopment of brownfield sites across Canada. The Brownie Awards are hosted by the Canadian Brownfields Network, in partnership with Actual Media.

Founded in 2001 by the Canadian Urban Institute, the Brownie Awards recognize the innovative efforts of professionals who rehabilitate sites that were once contaminated, under-utilized, and undeveloped by remaking them into productive residential and commercial projects that contribute to the growth of healthy communities across Canada.

The 17th annual Brownie Awards, being held Wednesday, November 22nd at the Delta Toronto Hotel, will feature 10 awards for industry excellence. There are six categories of recognition: reprogram, remediate, reinvest, rebuild, renew and reach out. There are three additional awards recognizing the best small-scale project, best large-scale project, and best overall project. There is also a special award that recognizes an outstanding individual in the industry as Brownfielder of the Year.

Nominations for the 2017 Brownie Awards will officially open on June 15th as part of the Canadian Brownfields Network’s annual conference. Nominations will run until September 15th, with finalists announced on November 3rd.

For information about award nominations, please contact:
David Petrie
Canadian Brownfields Network
(416) 491-2886

For event and award category sponsorships, or to book your corporate table for eight ($1,500), please contact:
Elena Langlois
Actual Media
(416) 444-5842 ext. 151