The Brownies are open to everyone in the brownfield community, and are designed to recognize excellence in projects or programs.  A panel of judges, drawn from the industry, will determine the winners.

Frequently Asked Questions:

Who can submit a Brownie nomination?

Any organization involved in brownfield redevelopment in Canada can submit a nomination – municipalities, utilities, developers, consultants, property owners, non-governmental organizations, regulators, etc. – either on behalf of someone else or for its own work.

Does the project/program I nominate have to meet all of the detailed criteria?

Nominated projects/programs should meet the majority of the criteria for the category in which they’re nominated, and we recognize that outstanding performance for one of the criteria can outweigh criteria that do not apply to a project/program and that it is rare for a nominated project to score ten out of ten on each of the relevant criteria. We encourage you to nominate a project, even if it doesn’t, in your opinion, address all the criteria in its category.

Does the project/program have to involve a CBN member, either as manager/leader or part of the team?

Nominations are open to everyone involved in Canadian brownfield redevelopment, and there is no requirement an individual involved in the project/program to be a member of CBN.

What recognition is given to nominated projects?

The list and a description of short-listed projects/programs will be published on this website (, the CBN website ( Additionally, they will be posted to and distributed through its ReNewsletter digital media eBlast.

Winners will have the opportunity to give a short overview of their projects at the Brownie Awards Gala, and will receive an original piece of art, handcrafted by Floyd Elzinga. They will also be able to include “Brownie Award winner” and CBN/Brownie Awards branding in their marketing and communications.

How can I nominate a project/program?

CBN is now accepting nominations for the Brownies in the above categories. If you or someone you know has a noteworthy project or program you feel should be recognized by us, please complete the nomination. Download the nomination form in PDF, complete the form and save it to your computer, then email it as an attachment to Grant Walsom of CBN at [email protected]. If you have any questions, please call David Petrie 416-491-2886 ext. 249. Please note you do not need to be a CBN member to be nominated.

What are the criteria for the Brownfielder of the Year?

The Brownfielder of the Year award is given to recognize an outstanding individual in the industry who has a reputation as a champion for brownfield redevelopment; promotes a better understanding of brownfields as strategic assets; and, invests exceptional personal effort to further the cause of brownfield redevelopment.

Do you have more questions about the Award process?

If you have any questions about the process or criteria, please contact Grant Walsom of CBN; you can also call us at (416) 444-5842, ext. 101.